Path to Iona

We parted in Edinburgh–David for the airport and I  headed for Waverly Train station.   The remainder of our trip together we were able to do the things we planned, just more slowly and with more caution.  I felt that tension of transition, saying “Goodbye”to David, praying for his travel with a crutch, and moving into  my role as solo traveler.

IMG_0717

We say our goodbyes in Edinburgh

Now I joined those pilgrims from other  places, stepping  onto the path to  Iona.

My seat to Oban was  across the table from a  very friendly  Scottish  couple, Agnes and  David. He lifted my  luggage  into the overhead  bin and  was eager to share  information about places along our route.  He was an avid golfer and loved seeing my photos of my son’s  course near Charleston.  Agnes eventually warmed to the conversation and by our destination, showed me pictures of  their seven grandchildren.

We said goodbyes and wished each other safe travels.  I hurried to the ferry ticket office, heeding the caution in my instructions from the Iona Abbey to not  linger at the  nearby shops.  Once on the boat, I found a  quiet spot, needing the  fresh air and solitude after a richly stimulating morning.

After the forty-five minute ferry ride, I climb aboard the West Coast bus to Fionnphort.  We crossed the isle of Mull with its stunning and remote beauty, rarely a house  in  view, hills dotted in white, sheep grazing on the brownish-green grass and other vegetation.  After riding  more than an hour, we arrive at  our destination.

My lodging for the next two nights  is Seaview B & B that overlooks  the sound. I can  see Iona and think, I’m really  here.  After all my dreaming, planning, praying– I’m now at the  threshold of Iona and my week of living in the  community of the Abbey.

I’m glad I have some time to rest before  I enter that  space.  John and Jane, who own the B & B, are  wonderful hosts.   Jane prepares  a  delicious  dinner of lamb and potatoes on my first  night and  a hearty  and  tasty breakfast both  mornings.  John describes himself as  “the chatty  one” and provides essential information, including  to take  the early ferry this morning  when I departed.  High winds may  shut  the  ferry down in the afternoon.

The crew prepare  for the walkers and one car to board  the  ferry.  I look across  to  the Abbey and wonder; what will it be like to live in a community  for a week?  how will I fit in? how will I manage with no possible escape route  like I usually  have  on my journeys?   Like  before, I just  have to step forward  in  faith, trusting this as  the  right path for me.

IMG_0543

I’ll end  this post  early and ask readers to  understand that  it’s been difficult to post this  in real time– spotty  wifi, problems loading current pictures, using a tablet keyboard with so  many problems.   I’ll  post a day  early while I can.  But I persist because  I want  you  to join me  on my journey and  make it yours.   We take  the path to Iona and through life together.

Peace to  you.

 

4 thoughts on “Path to Iona

Leave a Reply

